Connect with us

Nigeria News

14 countries have been placed on COVID-19 Watchlist by Lagos State Government




Lagos State Government has placed 14 countries on its COVID-19  Watchlist as a means to reduce the spread of the disease in the state.


Akin Abayomi, the State Commissioner for Health disclosed this to the public on Wednesday, May 12.

According to him, visitors coming into the state have been divided into three groups; the red countries, the Amber countries and the green countries.


He stated that the state government is drafting measures that will guide the management of inbound Passengers Of Interest ( POIs) from other countries.

One of the protocols for entering Lagos State includes been subjected to 72 hours of PCR tests before and after departure and a 14 day isolation at any approved government hospital.


The Red countries are India, Brazil, and Turkey.

The Amber countries are Canada, US, France, Germany, Netherlands, Togo, Ghana, Cameroun, Angola, South Africa, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and Rwanda.


The Green countries are countries where there are no records of variants from red countries and no clear increase in the nunber of daily informed cases.

He further stated:


” Our protocol for management of inbound passengers will include: a mandatory PCR test 72 hours before departure, PCR test post arrival and a 14 day isolation in a government approved facility paid for by the passenger.

Passengers of interest from the Amber Countries are also required to do PCR test 72 hours before departure, PCR test post arrival and a mandatory seven days isolation at home which will be monitored by our logistics, surveillance and Eko TELEMED teams”.




Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *